To those still eating at Chick-Fil-A

So there’s been a social media maelstrom recently over the various things Chick-Fil-A has done wrong from a PR standpoint. For those of you who have been abducted by aliens or engrossed in TomKat’s divorce papers for the last two weeks, here’s the skinny:

  1. Chick-Fil-A has amazing chicken sandwiches.
  2. Chick-Fil-A is owned by Baptists who hate the gay, and they just reminded us all. The phrase “biblical principles” was thrown around, and when it’s said, we know there’s some kind of judgment a-followin’.
  3. People who’ve never eaten at Chick-Fil-A (because they’re gay and it’s not on their diet, or they live in a state that doesn’t have one) are swearing never to eat there, and the pundits are having loads of fun.
  4. People who used to eat at Chick-Fil-A have stopped, because they didn’t know the founder of the company had that attitude towards the harmless gays have stopped eating there (this is a small minority including people like Ed Helms.)
  5. People who are otherwise gay-friendly, gay-tolerant, or gay-indifferent (but who still might have gay friends) say things like “Sorry, but I just love their chicken.”

It’s the people under heading number 5 that I take issue with. For a while (because I’m understanding like that) I said, “I totally feel ya bro. Their chicken is pretty awesome; we’ll just agree to disagree.”

But then the more I thought about it, I said “Wait a minute. This is a problem. So you mean to say that you fully understand that by buying a sandwich from Chick-Fil-A, you’re knowingly putting money into the hands of people who would not only deny me the right to marriage equality, but would also prefer it if I simply didn’t exist the way God made me? I’m gonna, ya know, go ahead and take issue with that.”

I mean, seriously, where do you draw the line? It’s not really about the chicken anymore (even though you have to wonder about some people’s devotion to chicken. “Oh, you can’t live without that chicken sandwich? I suppose it is more important than my civil rights. ‘Cause you know, you can’t go to another chicken place, and I can always find something else that’s just like my civil rights. Like getting married in another country even though it won’t be recognized here. Or having rights in one state, but not in another, because they’re not on the same page (it’s a little Jim Crow-ish, isn’t it?)

Sorry, I just love their chicken.

No, you’re not sorry. I hardly think you’re weeping into your chicken sandwich about what they’ve done. Sure, I understand. They’ll treat me quite cordially should I choose to go in there. I can go in and say “I’m a homosexual, and I’d love one of your holy chicken sandwiches.” And they’ll say “My pleasure.” Sure, it’s not a lunch counter in Selma. It’s not a city bus in Montgomery. We’re not getting attacked by firehoses and police dogs – but do we need to? Do we need to go to jail to prove that this fight is just as important?

Try this instead. Make a donation in my name to the charity of Chick-Fil-A’s choice, now that you know where the money goes. If you can stomach that with a clear conscience, by all means, enjoy your damned sandwich.

About AbFabSkyLife

Travel & Dining Writer. Gin Drinker. Papaya Promoter. Karaoke-ista. Living Aloha. My own opinion and not that of my employer.
This entry was posted in Consumerism, Offensive Tomfoolery, We're here we're queer have we made ourselves clear? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To those still eating at Chick-Fil-A

  1. Megan says:

    I applaud the owner for standing up for what he believes in an voicing his opinion. Last I checked, this was a free country where that was not only allowed, but encouraged. If you don’t like what the owner had to say, don’t patronize it. Simple as that. What I have issues with is politicians trying to block free enterprise by not allowing CFA in their cities due to these comments. What happened to free speech? Also, what happened to the separation of church and state? For a group that prides itself on being nonjudgmental, some members of the gay community sure are quick to judge us for eating at CFA an immediately think we don’t support gay marriage. My best friend is gay and I support gay rights. But I don’t support people trying to keep other people from patronizing a company whose owner was exercising his right to free speech. If you don’t like the owners comments, don’t patronize his company. But don’t try to cram your agenda don everyone else’s throats or make us feel bad or guilty if we do patronize CFA. I personally will be going to CFA more often now. Not because I agree with the owners comments (I think anyone should be able to marry) but because I applaud him for being brave enough to share what he believes in the name of free speech without persecution.

    • Free enterprise/free speech doesn’t mean not having to deal with the consequences of what you say. It means the government can’t keep you from saying it. Accountability is the price we pay for free speech, and Chick Fil-A is receiving that in spades.

  2. julieb says:

    Wow. I think you are missing the whole point. It has nothing to do with free speech. You know that free speech that allows people to hate and discriminate, hurt and mistreat, all in the name of free speech..whooo hoo Free Speech! What isn’t right, and what this movement is about is funding and supporting hate. Why would you support that? He not just hates “the gay” he financially supports groups that hate “the gay.” He gives big money and time and space to hating “the gay.” What he should do is shut his mouth, keep his hate at home. Why make a big public announcement about what a hater he is? Why would you ever give money to someone who hates and discriminates and does it publicly…in the name of free speech? Are you also going to give money to Westboro Baptist Church? Because its’ the same thing. And on top of that…let’s not get into factory farming, mistreatment of animals, labor.. and why in the hell you would eat that crap anyway.

  3. bab says:

    Lucky me!! I tried Chik Fil A once and personally, I didn’t find the sandwich to be so awesome that I would pay the price they charge for it again. Makes me glad I’ve not been funding their “misogayny”!!!

Leave a Reply

