I just had a bottle of wine for dinner

Well, it was more like 2/3 of a bottle because I opened it a few days ago and thought it a bit full bodied for my taste (Thierry & Guy Fat Bastard Cabernet Sauvignon) but was distracted from the full body because I was on a (upon reflection rather expensive, even at .09 cents per minute because we rattled on about nothing for a good length of time) phone call with a dear friend in Canada. Well, when I say “dear” I mean “modern dear” because in this internet age it’s possible to become “dear” friends with somebody you’ve never met. Isn’t it? Just get online or on the phone to pour your heart out to someone two decades ago you might have considered a total stranger because you didn’t have the ability to communicate so easily, but now you can not only chat them up in a variety of ways, you can also share funny pics of your cats.

Anyway I digress. So I was on the phone, and not wanting to eat while on the phone (although I did go pee, which my Mother taught me wasn’t rude as long as the caller couldn’t hear you, and I sit down) I decided to drink this lovely bottle of wine for dinner instead (and I now have spaghetti that I cooked in anticipation of a shorter conversation for lunch tomorrow) – why not? It has calories, nutrients, vitamins, and probably passes for a dinner to many a Parisian clochard, so why not for me?

Digressing again. The point I was making to this Canadian friend of mine was that I envied Canada for having such a sense of fairness and inclusion that seems to be missing in the United States. While everyone in the US is concerned about being independent and not beholden to anybody, in Canada the emphasis seems to be more on inclusion and making sure everybody feels welcome and taken care of.

Canada

Like for me, as a gay man, I would feel more welcome in Canada than I would the US. It can easily be argued one of the major life events/achievments/accomplishments is getting married and having a family – something I can do equally with heterosexuals in Canada but not in the United States. It goes back to that inclusion thing again. In Canada, it seems, there is a place at the table for me and my family, whereas in the United States we don’t technically exist. I could get married in Canada and emigrate there as a spouse, but should any Canadian spouse of mine wish to emigrate to the US to be me with me, they would have to do so as a single person. There’s something amiss there. Two Western, modern, industrialized nations with similar majorly Northern European heritage, yet one seems to have this inclusivity thing down pat, while the other touts independence and free thought, yet subjects the rights of one group to the personal moral beliefs of the ignorant majority?

Perhaps it’s time to rethink my position. Perhaps the best part of North America might be somewhere my family is called a family, not a “special interest”.

About AbFabSkyLife

Travel & Dining Writer. Gin Drinker. Papaya Promoter. Karaoke-ista. Living Aloha. My own opinion and not that of my employer.
This entry was posted in Boozing, We're here we're queer have we made ourselves clear? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

